Captain Els names Day, Hadwin, Im and Niemann as picks

Joaquin Niemann (Photo by Getty Images)

International Team captain Ernie Els has named his picks for the 13th Presidents Cup set to begin in just over a month at The Royal Melbourne Golf Club.

The final four players for Els’ side are Jason Day of Australia, Adam Hadwin of Canada, Sungjae Im of Korea and Joaquín Niemann of Chile.

For the first time in Presidents Cup history, each captain makes four captain’s picks instead of two. Captain Els will lead the youngest International Team in Presidents Cup history, with the average age of his 12 players totaling just over 29 years old.

With these picks, this will also be the most diverse International Team in Presidents Cup history, with players from Australia, Canada, Chile, China, Chinese Taipei, Japan, Korea, Mexico and South Africa. This is the first time that the International Team will include players from China, Mexico, Chinese Taipei and Chile. Host country Australia has four players set to compete at Royal Melbourne, with Day joining Marc Leishman, Adam Scott and Cameron Smith.

The International Team also has 22 previous Presidents Cup appearances amongst its members with six players making their Presidents Cup debuts, which matches the second-most first-timers in team history (7, 2013).

Niemann will have added reason to celebrate his 21st birthday today as the former world No. 1-ranked amateur will be the first player from Chile to compete in the Presidents Cup.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top