Tiger Woods versus Rafael Nadal, Lewis Hamilton, Lionel Messi, Marc Márquez and Eliud Kipchoge for Laureus World Sportsman award

Photo by Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images

Tiger Woods is up against Spanish tennis star Rafael Nadal, Formula 1 world champion Lewis Hamilton, six-time World Moto GP champion Marc Márquez, Argentine football maestro Lionel Messi and marathon runner Eliud Kipchoge for the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year award.

The 20th anniversary edition of the prestigious awards will be staged in Berlin on February 17, where the winners in seven categories will be unveiled.  Shortlists for six categories (Sportswoman, Sportsman, Team, Breakthrough, Comeback and Action) were created by votes from more than 1,000 sports media from over 70 countries. The shortlist for World Athlete of the Year with a Disability is provided by the International Paralympic Committee.

The Laureus World Sports Academy (a unique group of sporting legends) votes for the winners in each shortlisted category and The Academy also has the ability to grant discretionary awards, such as the Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award.

A global public vote determines the winner of the Laureus Sporting Moment of the Year award, which honours one inspiring story that encapsulates the power of sport inspire and bring people together.

Woods, who won the Masters last year for his 15th Major title and also matched Sam Snead’s record of 82 PGA Tour wins, has won the Sportsman of the Year accolade on two occasions in 2000 and 2001. He also won the Laureus Comeback of the Year award last year.

First held in 2000, the annual event honours the greatest and most inspirational sporting triumphs of the year and showcases the work of Laureus Sport for Good.

Broadcast around the world, the awards ceremony also provides a global platform for supporting Laureus Sport for Good, by showcasing the incredible work done to transform young lives around the world. Each year, one programme is recognised for its outstanding work through the Laureus Sport for Good Award.

For the full list of nominees, click here

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top