Five ASEAN players awarded starts in Maybank Championship

The five players who qualify for the Maybank Championship 2017 via the ASEAN category have been announced as George Gandranata (Indonesia), Ye Thet Aung (Myanmar), Juvic Pagunsan (Philippines), Koh Dengshan (Singapore) and Michael Tran (Vietnam).

Koh Deng Shan

The five players will take on the best golfers from the Asian and European Tours in the second edition of the US$3 million event, which tees-off on February 9-12 at Saujana Golf & Country Club.

The ASEAN allocation is part of Maybank’s commitment to grow the game across the region and provides players from Indonesia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore and Vietnam who are otherwise not eligible to play. The selection was made based on a combination of the players’ world rankings, Asian Tour and Asian Development Tour rankings and local PGA standings.

Maybank chairman Tan Sri Dato’ Megat Zaharuddin Megat Mohd Nor said: “We are excited to welcome the five ASEAN players selected to the Maybank Championship next month. I have no doubt these players will take pride in being selected as representing the talents from their respective countries, and will bring their best game, which is very much in line with our commitment to enhance the standards of professionalism in this region.”

The ASEAN announcement was accompanied by the confirmation of more star players for the 156-strong field – namely defending champion Marcus Fraser of Australia, Spanish ace, Rafa Cabrera Bello of Spain who had a stand-out 2016 season with an impressive debut for Team Europe in the Ryder Cup, another Ryder Cup player Bernd Wiesberger of Austria and Thai stalwarts Thongchai Jaidee and Kiradech Aphibarnrat.

Fans enjoy free entry on Thursday and Friday.

For more information, log on to

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top