Fleetwood and Stenson to power Team Europe

Photo by Arep Kulal/Getty Images

Newly-crowned Race To Dubai champion Tommy Fleetwood and 2016 Open champion Henrik Stenson will be part of a strong European team for the third edition of the EurAsia Cup presented by DRB-HICOM on January 12-14.

Captained by Danish legend Thomas Bjorn – eight months before he captains Europe in the Ryder Cup in France – the European Team will face Asia in the biennial contest which will once again take place at Glenmarie Golf & Country Club in Kuala Lumpur. Europe won the last edition in convincing fashion by 18½-5½ in 2016, but will be up against what is expected to be a strong Asian team this time around. The line-ups will be completed on November 28 when Team Asia captain, Indian icon Arjun Atwal, names his squad.

Leading the 10 automatic qualifiers from the 2017 Race to Dubai Rankings is Englishman Fleetwood, who finished as the European Tour’s No 1 after a thrilling end to the season last weekend at the DP World Tour Championship in Dubai.

Joining Fleetwood as automatic qualifiers are his fellow Englishmen Tyrrell Hatton, Ross Fisher and Matthew Fitzpatrick, Spain’s Rafa Cabrera-Bello, Austria’s Bernd Wiesberger, Ireland’s Paul Dunne, Belgium’s Thomas Pieters, and the Swedish duo of Alex Noren and Henrik Stenson.

Completing the European Team are the two wildcard selections named by Captain Bjorn, Englishman Paul Casey and Alex Levy of France.

Captain Bjorn, who played in the inaugural EurAsia Cup match in 2014 which ended in a 10-10 tie, said: “The interest from the players has been very strong and you can see that from the fact that the ten automatic qualifiers come from within the top 20 of the final Race to Dubai Rankings. That is a good indication of what the EurAsia Cup is becoming, and I think European golf is in a great place right now.

“I’m very encouraged by the make-up of the team and we are strong from 1 through to 12. I have some great experience in terms of six players who have experienced Ryder Cups, as well as the 2016 Open Champion in Henrik. But I also have some exciting young talent led by Tommy and Tyrrell.”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top