Former Champs Sign Up For Maybank Malaysian Open 2014

???????????????????????????????KUALA LUMPUR, April 10, 2014: The Maybank Malaysian Open 2014 just got a whole lot bigger and exciting with several former champions joining an already stellar cast.

Defending champion Kiradech Aphibarnrat will be joined by former winners Arjun Atwal of India (2003, 2008), Scotland’s Alastair Forsyth (2002) and Sweden’s Peter Hedblom (2007), who have confirmed their participation in this year’s US$2.75 million event at Kuala Lumpur & Country Club (KLGCC) from April 17-20.

They will be going up against former World No.1 Lee Westwood of England, South Africa’s 2010 Open champion Louis Oosthuizen, three-time Asian Order of Merit winner Thongchai Jaidee of Thailand and Italy’s Matteo Manassero, who confirmed their participation earlier this year.

Westwood (1997), Oosthuizen (2012), Thongchai (2004, 2005) and Manassero (2011) have also hoisted the Seagram Trophy at the National Open, which sees it in its 53rd edition this year

While Kiradech’s win at last year’s Maybank Malaysian Open helped make him Asia’s No. 1 player and secure the Asian Tour’s 2013 Order of Merit crown, he has yet to reproduce some of his best golf after losing his coach Natpasit Chokthanasart, nicknamed Pro Jew, who passed away last December.

However, the burly young Thai is determined to bounce back and is looking at another great performance at KLGCC to help push him back up the rankings.

With his track record at KLGCC, Kiradech, who turns 25 this July, will be aiming to recreate the form that led him to the crown last year. A strong performance in Malaysia will be a major boost to his confidence and possibly see a revival of the Thai star.

Tickets for the Maybank Malaysian Open 2014 can be purchased from, or also at the entrance of the event.

Tickets are priced at RM10 per day for Thursday and Friday, RM20 per day for Saturday and Sunday or RM40 for a Season Ticket (all four days).

Tickets for senior citizens (55 & above) are priced at RM5 for a daily ticket or RM20 for a season pass, while children under the age of 16 can watch the tournament for free.

Visit for more information.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top