Fung aims to settle ‘unfinished business’ in Manila

Manila, November 7: Malaysia’s Nicholas Fung has some ‘unfinished business’ to attend to when he tees off in the Resorts World Manila Masters this Thursday.

The 27-year-old Fung has a superb track record at Manila Southwoods Golf & Country Club and hopes to win the US$1 million event for his second Asian Tour title this season. The bespectacled Malaysian claimed three top-10 results in his last four appearances at the Manila showpiece, coming closest to winning last year when he settled for joint runner-up after a three-way playoff won by India’s SSP Chawrasia.

With his maiden Asian Tour win already in the bag at June’s Queen’s Cup in Thailand, Fung is ready to take on the starry line-up in the fifth edition of the richest golf tournament in the Philippines.

“I am really happy to be back here. It’s one of my favourite events. I hope I can win this time, having finished inside top-10 thrice in my last four starts here,” said Fung. “This year, I am coming into the week with my first Asian Tour title already in the bag so I am definitely feeling more confident than previous years.

“This course is not too long for me and is similar to the course in Koh Samui, Thailand, where I won in June. You can use a mid-iron for every approach shots as the greens are soft here.”

Fung noted that he will not place too much pressure on himself. “I will try to have fun and go for some low scores this week. There are so many good players here this week. I just want to go out and play as well as I can.”

In-form Ajeetesh Sandhu of India, young Thai talent Poom Saksansin and local hope Miguel Tabuena will also be among the 132-man field from over 25 countries challenging for honours this week. Tabuena will spearhead the local charge alongside living legend Frankie Minoza, 2011 Asian Tour Order of Merit champion Juvic Pagunsan and Antonio Lascuna, who will all be vying to become the first Filipino to win the event.

Order of Merit leader Gavin Green of Malaysia, as well as all four past winners of the tournament, namely Liang Wen-chong of China (2013), Mardan Mamat of Singapore (2014), Thailand’s Natipong Srithong (2015) and Chawrasia (2016) are also in the mix.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top