Green stays ahead in Asian Tour Order of Merit race

Gavin Green remains on course to become the first Malaysian to win the Asian Tour Order of Merit title after continuing to lead the money list following the conclusion of the CIMB Classic yesterday.

Green surged to the top of the Order of Merit after his maiden Asian Tour win in the Mercuries Taiwan Masters a fortnight ago. Although he finished tied 61st in the Malaysian showpiece at TPC Kuala Lumpur, his earnings of US$15,190 assured he retained his place at the top.

“I’ll be focusing on the Asian Tour and trying to secure the Order of Merit.  To do that, I’m going to have a good two, three months coming in and I’ve to do well,” said Green.

While disappointed with his finish on home soil, Green is upbeat about the other opportunities that lie ahead.

“I’m pretty disappointed because this is my home course and even with the home crowd, I just couldn’t get anything going this week.  It was quite frustrating for me.

“But on the bright side, I’ve got the next two weeks to look at and hopefully do well those next two weeks,” said Green.

David Lipsky leapfrogged Australia’s Scott Hend to take over second place on the money list after finishing tied 21st in Malaysia. The Korean-American, who won the Order of Merit title in 2014, is looking another repeat as he hopes to bring the merit battle down to the wire.

“The Order of Merit is definitely on my mind and I probably have to play really well in the co-sanction events like the Hong Kong Open to chase him down,” said Lipsky.

The Asian Tour heads to Macau this week where the US$500,000 Macao Open is celebrating its 19th edition.

Asian Tour Order of Merit (Top-20 as at October 15, 2017)

  1. Gavin GREEN (MAS) – US$542,536.06
  2. David LIPSKY (USA) – US$457,729.11
  3. Scott HEND (AUS) – US$430,579.60
  4. S.S.P. CHAWRASIA (IND) – US$340,761.61
  5. Anirban LAHIRI (IND) – US$320,150.00
  6. Phachara KHONGWATMAI (THA) – US$301,852.41
  7. Poom SAKSANSIN   (THA) – US$297,803.51
  8. Jazz JANEWATTANANOND (THA) – US$286,625.43
  9. Daisuke KATAOKA   (JPN) – US$284,489.61
  10. Prayad MARKSAENG (THA) – US$272,308.02
  11. Juvic PAGUNSAN (PHI) – US$232,971.27
  12. Richard T. LEE (CAN) – US$228,884.08
  13. Younghan SONG (KOR) – US$208,231.59
  14. Jason NORRIS (AUS) – US$197,246.00
  15. Carlos PIGEM (ESP) – US$192,413.21
  16. Shiv KAPUR (IND) – US$182,719.62
  17. K.T. KIM (KOR) – US$180,466.93
  18. Todd SINNOTT (AUS) – US$179,545.89
  19. Scott VINCENT (ZIM) – US$170,585.98
  20. Johannes VEERMAN (USA) – US$157,796.32

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top