Major winners headline PGA Tour field for CIMB Classic

The final PGA Tour field for the US$7 million CIMB Classic was announced today and will include Major winners Ernie Els, Keegan Bradley and Jason Dufner, along with Japanese star Ryo Ishikawa and former World No 1 Luke Donald. The tournament tees-off next week at Kuala Lumpur Golf & Country Club.

Ernie Els

Ernie Els

Also in the field is 2015 PGA Tour Rookie of the Year Daniel Berger, two-time CIMB Classic runner-up Gary Woodland and past champions Nick Watney and Ben Crane.

Earlier commitments included 2013 Masters winner Adam Scott, enigmatic Spaniard Sergio Garcia and the ice cool Swede Henrik Stenson. 2014 champion Ryan Moore will return to defend his title and look for a third consecutive win at the tournament.

Presidents Cup International Team members Branden Grace of South Africa, Australians Marc Leishman and Steven Bowditch, Japan’s Hideki Matsuyama, New Zealand’s Danny Lee and India’s Anirban Lahiri are also in the field – as are the victorious American Team members  Patrick Reed, Jimmy Walker and Chris Kirk.

Keegan Bradley

Keegan Bradley

“The CIMB Classic has once again managed to attract a stellar field. The golf course and spectator facilities are ready, and we look forward to hosting this first class field at a world class event next week,” said Effendy Shahul Hamid, CEO, Group Asset Management and Investments, CIMB Group.

Now in its sixth year, the CIMB Classic will feature a 78-player elite field comprising 60 from the PGA Tour, 10 from the Asian Tour and eight sponsor’s exemptions. The line-up will be finalised on October 26 with the top 10 available players from the Asian Tour.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top