Maybank Malaysian Open ups purse to US$3 million

The 2015 Maybank Malaysian Open will return to Kuala Lumpur Golf & Country Club next February 5-8 with an increased purse of US$3 million to mark the 10th anniversary of Maybank’s title sponsorship.

Maybank Malaysian Open 2014The increase in prizemoney from US$2.75 million in 2014 is the first part of an integrated multi-platform plan to mark Maybank’s long-standing commitment towards upholding the rich heritage of Malaysia’s National Open.

“It fills me with great pride that Maybank has done its part to elevate our National Open to a world-class tournament that is respected on both the European and Asian Tours. 2015 marks the tenth year that Maybank will bring the Malaysian Open to its fans and in highlighting our nation’s sports tourism destinations, we are thrilled to celebrate this historic milestone” said Tan Sri Dato’ Megat Zaharuddin Megat Mohd Nor, chairman of Maybank.

Malaysian Golf Association (MGA) president Admiral (R) Tan Sri Dato’ Setia Mohd Anwar Mohd Nor noted: “The Malaysian Open will celebrate its 54th edition in 2015 making it the country’s longest-standing golf tournament. It’s a reflection of how far golf has developed in Malaysia and how this tournament has played a part in shaping the history of the game locally.”

Kuala Lumpur Golf & Country Club (KLGCC) will host the event for the seventh time on its award-winning West Course.

“Once again we have been chosen as the venue for our historic National Open. We regard it as an honour and are looking forward to shoulder the responsibility as the venue for the Open’s 54th edition. We will strive to deliver a great world-class golf tournament to commemorate the 10th Anniversary of Maybank’s title sponsorship,” said KLGCC’s general manager, Steven Thielke.

The Maybank Malaysian Open became the first national Open in Asia to be co-sanctioned by the European and Asian Tours in 1999. Over the years, the event has seen golfing greats such as Peter Thomson, Vijay Singh, Padraig Harrington, Retief Goosen, Michael Campbell, Nick Faldo and Rory McIlroy taking part.

In the 2014 event held at KLGCC in April, former World No. 1 Lee Westwood won by seven shots to claim his second Malaysian Open title.

For tournament updates and details of the event please visit:-

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top