Price and Haas name captain's picks for Presidents Cup

Team captains Nick Price and Jay Haas have announced their picks for the Presidents Cup in Korea this October. International captain Price chose Australian Steven Bowditch and Korea’s Bae Sang-moon, while his US counterpart Haas selected Bill Haas and Phil Mickelson.

Steven Bowditch

Steven Bowditch

With these picks, the International Team has 14 previous Presidents Cup appearances amongst its members and five ‘rookies’ making their Presidents Cup debuts.  Those numbers are 27 and four for the U.S. Team.

Bowditch and Bae will be making their Presidents Cup debut.  Haas is playing for the US Team for the third consecutive time, while Mickelson will continue his reign as the only player to participate in all 11 Presidents Cups.

Bae Sang-moon

Bae Sang-moon.

In addition, Price announced – as host team captain – that he has selected foursomes as the format to start the competition on Thursday of The Presidents Cup on October 8.

The Presidents Cup – a team, match-play competition featuring 24 of the world’s top golfers – comes to Asia for the first time, to be held at Jack Nicklaus Golf Club Korea in Songdo IBD, Incheon City, Korea, October 6-11.

The U.S. Team has won eight of the 10 previous Presidents Cups, while the only win by the International Team came at the 1998 event in Melbourne. The 2003 match ended in a tie.

Format for The Presidents Cup 2015 (30 points total):
Thursday – 5 foursomes
Friday – 5 four-ball
Saturday am – 4 four-ball
Saturday pm – 4 foursomes
Sunday – 12 singles

International Team:
1. Jason Day (Australia)
2. Louis Oosthuizen (South Africa)
3. Adam Scott (Australia)
4. Hideki Matsuyama (Japan)
5. Branden Grace (South Africa)
6. Marc Leishman (Australia)
7. Anirban Lahiri (India)
8. Charl Schwartzel (South Africa)
9. Thongchai Jaidee (Thailand)
10. Danny Lee (New Zealand)
11. Steven Bowditch (Australia)*
12. Bae Sang-moon (Korea)*

US Team:
1. Jordan Spieth
2. Bubba Watson
3. Jimmy Walker
4. Zach Johnson
5. Jim Furyk
6. Rickie Fowler
7. Dustin Johnson
8. Patrick Reed
9. Matt Kuchar
10. Chris Kirk
11. Bill Haas*
12. Phil Mickelson*

*Captain’s Picks

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top