Schauffele voted PGA Tour Rookie of the Year

Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Xander Schauffele has been voted as the 2017 PGA Tour Rookie of the Year by the tour’s membership for the 2016-17 season. The 23-year-old Californian will feature in next week’s CIMB Classic at TPC Kuala Lumpur, making his debut in the US$7 million event.

PGA Tour members who played in at least 15 official money events this past season were eligible to vote. The balloting process ended on October 2.

“On behalf of the PGA Tour, congratulations to Xander Schauffele on being voted PGA Tour Rookie of the Year,” said PGA Tour commissioner Jay Monahan. “Being recognized by your peers is one of the highest honors a player can receive, and Xander’s win at the Tour Championship during the FedExCup Playoffs capped off what had already been a remarkable rookie season.”

A 2016 graduate of the Tour, Schauffele was selected for the Rookie of the Year honor over Wesley Bryan, Patrick Cantlay, Mackenzie Hughes and Grayson Murray. The San Diego resident capped off his season in record-breaking fashion by holding off FedExCup champion Justin Thomas to become the first rookie to win the season-ending Tour Championship. By doing so, he finished the season third in the FedExCup.

Schauffele is the fourth member of the high school class of 2011 to earn PGA Tour Rookie of the Year honors, joining Jordan Spieth (2013), Daniel Berger (2015) and Emiliano Grillo (2016). Thomas, another member of that class, won the FedExCup this season by holding off Spieth and Schauffele.

Having captured The Greenbrier Classic earlier in the season for his first PGA Tour victory, Schauffele was one of six multiple winners during the 2016-17 season, joining Thomas, Spieth, Dustin Johnson, Hideki Matsuyama and Marc Leishman. In 28 starts, he turned in four top-10 finishes among 20 made cuts.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top