Shaaban will again fill a spot for Malaysia at the CIMB Asia Pacific Classic

Kuala Lumpur, 14 September: Shaaban Hussin showed his mettle by carding a 10-under par 203 at The Mines Golf Resort and Club today to qualify for the CIMB Asia Pacific Classic come October 27. Like last year, he will again fill a spot for Malaysia at the tournament that will see Ben Crane defend his title.

During the three days of competition, Shaaban didn’t even drop a game, leading from the first round to jointly top the leaderboard with Nicholas Fung, M Sasidaran and S Murthy, all registering a score of 3-under par 68.

However, the eventual winner then upped his game on the second day to card a 5-under par 66 score and left the rest of the pack trailing.

“I planned to just play for par today as I have a good cushion against the rest going into the last round. I didn’t want to pressure myself too much and let the others do the mistakes,” said Shaaban, the happy winner.

His plan worked better than expected when he birdied the 6th and 18th holes to score a 2-under par 69 for a total of 10-under par 203 for a final margin of five extra strokes against joint second place Mohd Hanafiah Jamil, S Sivachandran and R Nachimuthu all carding 3-under par 208 when play concluded.

Even rain that started to pour at Shaaban’s last tee failed to spoil his win when he birdied the par-4 hole.

Hanafiah won the second place tie by virtue of a coin toss between the three players and will step up to play at the CIMB Asia Pacific Classic if a reserve is required or if Shaaban qualifies through the Asian Tour Order of Merit.

Shaaban pocketed RM22,000 for his efforts and the cheque was presented by Minister of Youth and Sports, Dato’ Seri Ahmad Shabery Cheek during a ceremony after the competition.

A second slot for Malaysia will be filled by the highest ranked local player in the world standings as of September 21, 2011.

The four-day CIMB Asia Pacific Classic Malaysia begins on October 27 and will be played at the same course.


Final score:

203 – Shaaban Hussin (68-66-69)

208 – Mohd Hanafiah Jamil (72-69-67),S Sivachandran(69-71-68), R Nachimuthu (70-67-71)

210 – Nicholas Fung (68-71-71)

212 – M Sasidaran (68-72-72)

213 – S Murthy (68-71-74)

214 – Akhmal Tarmizee (69-72-73)

215 – Solhairy Sharif (74-69-72), Sahal Saedin (74-68-73)

216 – Sukree Othman (74-72-70), Airil Rizman (72-72-72)

217 – Nicholas Pua (72-75-70), Iain Steel (73-73-71)

218 – Anis Helmi Hassan (73-74-71), Md Rashid Ismail (69-75-74)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top