Singh vows to win EurAsia Cup

Team Asia captain Jeev Milkha Singh has vowed to do his best to win the EurAsia Cup when the highly-anticipated team match play event returns to Malaysia’s Glenmarie Golf & Country Club next week.

EAC 2016 Jeev Milkha Singh

The Indian star will lead the continent into battle against a Darren Clarke-led Team Europe at the second edition of the event from January 15-17. The inaugural edition in 2014 ended with both teams sharing the spoils after an enthralling 10-10 tie and Singh hopes to become the first captain to win the EurAsia Cup outright.

“The respect has been given to me by the Asian Tour and the players for making me the captain. I’ll make sure I’ll take care of them and get them across the line. I want the players to play well, I want to make sure that I get them to win for Asia,” said Singh.

The 44-year-old, who will be assisted by Vice Captain Liang Wen-chong of China, has already drawn out his battle plan against Team Europe.

“Match play is calculated and aggressive golf. Calculated and aggressive golf is the right way to play match play, not like how you would play stroke play,” said Singh. “I will tell the players that. It’s helped me in match play. Once you’re up at the start of a match, it’ll help in building momentum for your match and the team.”

While Team Europe will also boast a formidable team featuring heavyweights such as the English duo of Ian Poulter and Lee Westwood, both Ryder Cup stalwarts, Singh is upbeat of his own team’s chances.

“For sure Asia can win it. There are three reasons … home advantage, my belief in my team’s ability and the third point will be that every player will be giving 100% for Asia which is the most important thing in this event,” said Singh.

The EurAsia Cup will feature 24 matches, with day one showcasing six fourball matches, six foursomes matches and 12 singles matches. The winning team will share prize money of US$3.6 million while the runners-up will share US$1.2 million.

Team Asia: Anirban Lahiri, S.S.P. Chawrasia, Thongchai Jaidee, Danny Chia, Byeonghun An, Shingo Katayama, Kiradech Aphibarnrat, K.T. Kim, Nicholas Fung, Jeunghun Wang, Prayad Marksaeng and Wu Ashun.

Team Europe: Danny Willet, Ross Fisher, Victor Dubuisson, Chris Wood, Andy Sullivan, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Shane Lowry, Bernd Wiesberger, Soren Kjeldsen, Kristoffer Broberg, Ian Poulter and Lee Westwood.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top