Strong PGA Tour field for CIMB Classic

Ryan Moore (Photo by Sam Greenwood/Getty Images)

Ryan Moore (Photo by Sam Greenwood/Getty Images)

Patrick Reed (Photo by Keyur Khamar/PGA TOUR)

Patrick Reed (Photo by Keyur Khamar/PGA TOUR)

CIMB Group today announced the final PGA Tour field for the CIMB Classic, set to tee-off at TPC Kuala Lumpur from 20 – 23 October.

The 67 players committed to the CIMB Classic so far have a combined 156 PGA Tour victories, led by World Golf Hall of Fame members Vijay Singh, who owns 34 career wins including three majors, and Ernie Els, who has 19 wins including four majors.

Joining those two legends of the game is Australian superstar Adam Scott, who has 13 PGA Tour victories and one major himself, and is coming off of a runner-up finish at last year’s CIMB Classic.

Twenty-one of those players who have committed to the CIMB Classic won on the PGA Tour during the 2015-16 season, highlighted by defending champion Justin Thomas.

Joining him is two-time CIMB Classic champion Ryan Moore, who won his fifth PGA Tour title at the John Deere Classic in August. Moore, who won the CIMB Classic in 2013 and 2014, lost to Rory McIlroy in a playoff at the season-ending Tour Championship, ultimately finishing seventh in the FedExCup. American Kevin Chappell was also in a three-man playoff at the Tour Championship and is committed to play next month at TPC Kuala Lumpur.

“Each year, the CIMB Classic plays host to a stellar cast of some of the world’s best in golf, from the latest top-ranked players, to champions past and present,” said Tengku Dato’ Sri Zafrul Aziz, Group Chief Executive, CIMB Group. “This year’s listing features nine of the top-13 of the final FedExCup rankings, one of the best line-ups in our tournament history. We are extremely excited, and fans can definitely look forward to a great show in three weeks’ time.”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top