Golf to cease in MCO states for at least two weeks beginning tomorrow

Photo by Steve Prezant/iStock by Getty Images

All golfing activities will cease for at least two weeks from tomorrow, January 13, in states which fall under the new Movement Control Order (MCO), namely Penang, Selangor, Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Labuan, Melaka, Johor and Sabah. This includes golf clubs, retail outlets, driving ranges and academies.

This was confirmed in a circular sent out by the Malaysian Golf Association (MGA) today, which stated:

“As announced by the YAB Prime Minister on 11th January 2021, the second Movement Control Order (MCO) will take effect from 13th January to 26th January 2021 in Penang, Selangor, Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Labuan, Melaka, Johor and Sabah. As confirmed by the National Security Council (NSC) and Malaysian International Trade and Industry (MITI), the golf industry is not part of the Essential Economic Sector. As such, all golf-related operations located in MCO states shall be temporarily suspended until further notice from the government.

“Notwithstanding, please take note that routine golf maintenance activities may still be undertaken provided that at any one time no more than 30% of the total course & maintenance staff be at the work place.

“As for states under the Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) ie Kedah, Perak. Negeri Sembilan, Kelantan, Terengganu and Pahang, golf-related operations may resume provided MGA’s Mandatory Standard Operating Procedures (MSOP) released on 6th January 2021 are strictly complied with. Please take note that golf clubs situated in CMCO states must install plastic separators in buggies for twin sharing usage or alternatively, must enforce ‘one golfer per buggy’ if separators cannot be installed. Please be informed that golf competitions are temporarily suspended until further notice in CMCO states.”

Malaysia has seen a huge spike in Covid-19 cases over the last few months, resulting in the cumulative case count surpassing 136,000 with more than 550 deaths. Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin announced the new MCO in the most severely-hit states yesterday, which will run from January 13 to 26. This was followed by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong consenting earlier today to the government’s request to declare a nationwide state of emergency until August 1 or until the current Covid-19 wave subsides.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top